Chapter By-Laws

Article I – Affiliations

This chapter shall be affiliated with the American Rhododendron Society as a chapter thereof and shall be known officially as the Siuslaw Chapter of the American Rhododendron Society.

Article II - Purpose

The purpose of this chapter is to promote the study and culture of Rhododendrons and Azaleas and to stimulate appreciation of the genus by any appropriate means, including frequent meetings and Rhododendron shows. In addition, this chapter will support the Rhododendron Society by allocation of a portion of the annual chapter dues as prescribed by the American Rhododendron Society.

Article III - Membership

Membership in this chapter shall be open to all persons interested in the culture of Rhododendrons and Azaleas. All members of this chapter shall be deemed to be members of the American Rhododendron Society and entitled to all privileges thereof. Membership types shall be the same as those determined by the American Rhododendron Society. Each membership of this chapter shall be entitled to vote at all meetings and received all publications issued by this chapter.

Article IV - Dues

Dues for regular membership shall be fixed by the American Rhododendron Society, payable on September 1st and deemed delinquent after December 1st of each year. The Treasurer shall remit to the American Rhododendron Society an amount for each membership as prescribed by their articles. A member who is already a member in good standing of the American Rhododendron Society but belongs to another chapter, may, by application and upon submission of the local portion of dues, become a member of the Siuslaw Chapter.

Article V - Officers

The officers of the chapter shall be a President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The President shall preside at all meetings and shall perform the recognized functions of a president. The Vice President shall preside in the absence of the President and/or upon request by the President. The Secretary shall record all actions taken at all meetings of the chapter. The Treasurer shall be responsible for: handling the funds of the chapter; submitting a financial report at each board meeting and at the Annual Business Meeting; and with the assistance of the board, developing an annual budget. The Treasurer shall also request an audit of the chapter books at the end of his/her term of office, or every two (2) years, whichever applies.

Article VI - Meetings

There shall be no less than eight (8) general meetings of the chapter each year. The June meeting of each year shall be the Annual Business Meeting. Special meetings, if called for, may be requested by the President at any time.

Article VII - Elections

Each year the President shall appoint a nominating committee. The committee shall consist of a non-voting coordinator from the board and three (3) members-at-large. The committee shall announce the list of nominees during the May meeting. An election shall occur at the June meeting. Nominations can be made from the floor with the consent of the nominee. The President, Vice-President, and one (1) member-at-large will be elected during odd numbered years. The Secretary, Treasurer, and one (1) member-at-large will be elected during even numbered years. The term of office for the board officers and members-at-large shall begin at the adjournment of the June meeting.

Article VIII - Amendments to the By-Laws

These by-laws may be amended by a two/thirds (2/3) majority of those present and voting at any regular or special meeting. Written notice of a proposed change in the by-laws shall be given during the chapter meeting prior to the meeting where proposed changes will be voted upon.

Article IX - Dissolution of the chapter

In the event of dissolution of the chapter, all assets remaining shall be distributed to the American Rhododendron Society or a special fund of the society, at the discretion of the board members.

Article X - Board of Directors

There shall be a Board of Directors, consisting of eight (8) members whose duty it shall be to discuss and review all past and current matters pertinent to the affairs and activities of the chapter. The Board of Directors shall consist of the following: President, Vice-President, immediate Past-President, Secretary, Treasurer, plus three (3) Directors-at-large. All are elected and voted upon by the general membership. The officers and Past-President shall serve a term of two (2) years. The remaining three (3) Directors-at-large shall serve a term of three (3) years in office, on a rotating basis which allows for one (1) Director to retire each year and a new Director duly elected to take his/her place. In case of resignation, the Board of Directors shall appoint an interim person for the balance of the term. Meetings of the Board of Directors shall be called by the President at will. An attendance of five (5) Board Members shall constitute a quorum.

Last revised: December 2002, March 15, 2005, June 8, 2008, June 6, 2010 and board reviewed February 7, 2017

Top of Page